The Most Nerve Wracking Moment of My Life

First show this Friday night at 9pm.

I have always tried to push myself creatively. During my standup I have shared more about the darkness in my life than most. This is not that surprising since I am the type that if the subject was to come up, I would share these stories to a complete stranger. It’s just the way my brain works. If you ask me how are things going, I’m likely to tell you shitty, if that is how I’m feeling. I’m just not the type of person who wants to discuss the weather or what happened on the Kardashians. You ask me what’s up, if you catch me on the wrong day (50 percent chance) you are going to get personal things that you didn’t ask for. Since I’m a bit self-absorbed, I have thought before that people must talk behind my back saying, “Oh yeah, whatever you do, don’t ask Scott what’s new with him, unless you want to get a litany of his baggage–albeit entertaining as it might be.”*

*I told you I was self-absorbed. I not only believe people are discussing me when I’m not around, I also believe they think I’m entertaining even when I am a pain in their ass.

For the past decade I’ve been thinking about doing my own 1 man show. The reason for this is that I’m not a comic who always goes for the laugh, as I like to throw some pathos in with my yuk-yuks. A few years back I went to see my friend, Kevin Burke’s one man show and left being very impressed with his talent. I am not surprised that he has ended up being the most successful performer of the Defending the Caveman show, as he’s a natural showman. Last year, I attended the 1 man show of another comic friend, Paul Strickland, which was at the Indy Fringe Fest. It was great. His show was the final impetus for me getting me focused on being part of the 2012 Indy Fringe Fest.

Now I could have put on my own 1 man show at some theater or comedy club and probably have made more money, but I wanted to be part of a festival scene, plus I was looking to get a chance to do the show 6 times over a couple of weeks period.  So a few months ago, I filled out the form and paid the fee to get into the Fest. I had a couple different ideas. Both were personal. I went with the path that I thought was less-traveled, as I wanted to focus on my journey of being selfish comic perfectly contented following my own whims, to having a child who was diagnosed with autism and changing and sometimes even evolving into a better person. It’s not that simplistic and way more dark and twisted than that reads, but that’s the best 1 sentence description I can come up with. Some of the material I had used in my standup act, but the majority is new.

This is the part of where I come to this show creating almost complete anxiety. I have a lot of sections that are not that funny, with some being pretty brutally raw. I am totally confident going on stage and delivering jokes, but I have no experience with this selling the serious. Add to this that I’m having to memorize over a half an hour of new material that I have never done on stage, so it is a daunting challenge. It’s got me scared shitless.  I really have no idea if can pull it off, but in 72 hours I’m going to find out.

I have never used this blog to push any of my projects, but if you can help me by coming to the show if you live in the Indianapolis area or if you happen to know someone in the area, push out the info to them. I would really appreciate it! Maybe some social media love like on Facebook or Twitter mentioning my show website, arealmodernfamily.com. Thanks. I am proud of this show and I think it will give you a bit of new perspective on your own life, even if it might end up being fleeting. Plus for comics who have had enough of my shit there is a big bonus–you could see me epically fail onstage, forgetting my material and stumbling around to the point where I wind up in a fetal ball, weeping uncontrollable as the curtain falls! Either way, it will leave you with a great theater experience.

Here is the trailer I put together for the show. I want to thank friends Todd McComas for helping me with the sound, Eric Yoder giving permission to use his song, Green Water, and Josh Humble for taking some of the standup photos.

CATCH THE SHOW AT:

As part of Indy Fringe Festival 2012.

The Cook Theatre, Indiana Landmarks Center, 1201 Central Ave. Indianapolis, IN

SHOWTIMES

Friday, August 17, 9:00 p.m.

Saturday, August 18, 3:00 p.m

Tuesday, August 21, 7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, August 22, 6:00 p.m.

Saturday, August 25, 10:30 p.m.

Sunday, August 26, 4:30 p.m.

 

3 thoughts on “The Most Nerve Wracking Moment of My Life

      1. Hard to argue against the logic of a sure-fire move like that one, Bob, I will put it in my prop bag next to the big mallet and watermelon.

Leave a Reply

