Full Circle: Crackers in Indy

On-stage at Crackers. Special shout-out to awesome photographer, Josh Humble!

It was 2 decades ago that I first appeared on-stage.  This was at the Indianapolis Comedy Connection open mic in April of 1991.  Last weekend I was back at this club (now called Crackers Comedy Club) headlining there.  I’ve performed well-over 300 times there  as an MC, Feature, and Headliner.  It holds a warm place in my heart–I mean it was my first.  The shows went great (except Friday—which I will discuss in my next post).  I’m not a guy who hangs out at the club when I’m not working there, as I feel I should be home with my family, since I’m on the road so much.  Having said this, I do feel some home club love, as John the manager is a real mensch and the staff is great. (special shout-out to my buddy, Darci)

Downtown Indy is really underrated, as it is clean, safe, while having a pretty happening nightlife.  The club fits well with the vibe of the city.  Not pretentious, not glamorous.  It’s just a great place to have fun without spending 30 bucks for parking and 15 bucks for a drink.  I sometimes need to remind myself how far I’ve come.  I was this young guy dreaming big enough to think I could make it in this biz and 2 decades later I’m living it.  Hey, look at the big, bad cynic drop a little melancholy.  Don’t worry, my next post I will be back to my old self.

**********

My buddy Josh Humble took the above photo at my late show on Saturday.  If you are looking to get headshots done in the Midwest, you should contact him.

Leave a Reply

