Comedy Outside Chicago—Rockin’ the Region

Ahh, where to start? So I’m in Merrillville, IN. It’s Northwest Indiana or as many people from the area call The Region.  I like the people from there, but they are pretty tough and don’t want a bunch of quirky jokes. Get to the point and make us laugh.

2 Funny Dudes. Dave Waite and Your Hero.

When I hit the stage, they had already made it abundantly clear that they would not be working as a collective group.  There was a group of younger people who reminded you of the Jersey Shore, if they grew up in Hammond.  Right in the front row there were 3 couples who had already gotten their drink on.  My favorite feature of this group was that all three men had mustaches. You don’t see that too often anymore, unless you are at a Village People reunion tour, but these dudes all seemed like straight shooters. Finally, there was a bachelorette party made up mainly of Puerto Rican girls. Now when the best group you have in a comedy club is a Puerto Rican bachelorette party, you know you have a fight on your hands.

Puerto Rican girls just dying to meet you.

Knowing this I went in alpha dog mode, stalking the stage from the start and not doing any bits that take too long to get into.  It is a little perverse, but I actually enjoy situations like this as it keeps my show tight and has me really selling the shit out of my material.  Show went pretty well.  Audience left happy.  Another show tomorrow night.  I will keep you posted.

Opening act Kyle-dog and MC Suburban Dad
Leave a Reply

