Podcasts

Fans and Friends from Lansing

One of the questions I get the most is Do you fly to most of your gigs? No I do not.  Many weeks I put together a tour that has 3 different cities, so it’s not financially feasible.  Even when I am in just one city, the cost of the flight and rental car doesn’t make it worth it.  I am not afraid of flying, as I do it when I go towards the West Coast, but if I’m within 12 hours I’m driving, as don’t like the stress of the airport.  I also enjoy the solace of my car, listening to my IPod.  I’ve really gotten into podcasts to the point where I recently kicked my satellite radio to the curb.  I had XM or Sirius since the first day they came out with them, but I like the free-form style of podcasts and I think the good ones are more intellectually stimulating than anything I hear anywhere else.  Here are the podcasts I listen to on a regular basis.

  • Adam Carolla
  • Greg Fitzsimmons (you can hear me with Fitzdog on his podcast from Grand Rapids)
  • Marc Maron
  • Joe Rogan
  • Bill Burr
  • The Nerdist (Chris Hardwick)
  • Never Not Funny (Jimmy Pardo)
  • Comedy and Everything (Jimmy Dore)
  • Kevin Pollak
  • Bill Simmons (ESPN’s Sports Guy)
  • Rich Eisen (NFL network)
  • Spider and the Henchman (John Salley and Kevin Hench)
  • Freaknomics Radio
  • This American Life

I recommend checking them all out, but especially Carolla, Fitzdog, Maron, Simmons, and of course the amazing This American Life. Rogan’s podcast is an intellectual mind trip, but you have to be able to commit 2 to 3 hours, as his shows go on a long time.  My friend, Chicago Comedian Scott King, interviewed me for his podcast (Class Act Comedy) when we worked together at Riddles in Chicago.  Hit this link if you would like to check it out.

Is it Me, or do we look like some alt.rock band?
Leave a Reply

